Is it Possible to Reinstate a Suspended License in Florida?

In Florida, there are a number of reasons for a suspended license, such as:

  • Too many points;
  • Failure to pay traffic tickets or court costs;
  • Failure to pay red light camera tickets or toll violations;
  • Failure to appear in court;
  • Being deemed a habitual traffic offender;
  • Being involved in an accident without insurance resulting in a civil judgment (FR Judgment);
  • Being convicted of a drug offense, among other things. 

 

It can become an inconvenience when your license is suspended as you are no longer able to drive to work or run errands. You have to rely on others to help you get around, especially as you do not want to get caught driving with a suspended license. According to Florida Statute 322.34, driving with a suspended license with knowledge is a criminal matter and you will be charged with a second-degree misdemeanor for a first offense. Things to expect are:

  • Mandatory court hearing
  • Entry on your criminal record
  • Up to a $500 fine
  • Classes and court costs
  • Up to 60 days in jail or 6 months of probation
  • Strike towards becoming a habitual traffic offender

 

The good news is that if your license is suspended or revoked in Florida, it is possible to get it reinstated. The process to reinstate your license can be a complicated and lengthy one, so it is always a good idea to have an experienced traffic attorney assist you. 

Local: (407) 500-GANS (4267)

Wait!

Don’t forget to schedule your free consultation now!